Police Accreditation

The Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc. (CALEA) was established in 1979 as a credentialing authority through the joint efforts of law enforcement’s major executive associations: International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP); National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE); National Sheriffs Association (NSA); and Police Executive Research Forum (PERF).

The CALEA accreditation programs provide public safety agencies with an opportunity to voluntarily meet an established set of professional standards, which require:

• Comprehensive and uniform written directives that clearly define authority, performance and responsibilities;

• Reports and analyses to make fact-based and informed management decisions;

• Preparedness to address natural or man-made critical incidents;

• Community relationship-building and maintenance;

• Independent review by subject matter experts; and

• Continuous pursuit of excellence through annual reviews and other assessment measures.

CALEA Emblem 2
Ohio Collaborative

The Ohio Collaborative Community-Police Advisory Board was established in 2015 and offers a certification process for police departments in Ohio. Like other certification programs, the process consists of two major components:

1. Establishing professional standards for law enforcement to meet; and

2. Administering a voluntary assessment process by which law enforcement departments can be recognized for meeting best practices.

For more information on the Ohio Collaborative, go to ocjs.ohio.gov/collaborative.

The Beavercreek Police Department has been internationally accredited since 1999 and has been certified in all of the Ohio Collaborative standards since the program’s inception.