Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
school has been in session for several months, it is never too late to review
current school bus laws regarding when to stop for a school bus (carrying
school children, or persons attending mental health or developmental
disabilities programs, or children attending a head start program) on Ohio
roadways. First, "Watch the Lights”
– when preparing to stop the bus, the driver will activate four amber (yellow)
lights on the top of the bus (front and back) approximately 100 to 300 feet
before stopping, to warn approaching and following vehicles that the bus is
about to stop. Drivers must slow their vehicles to 20 mph or less when amber
lights are seen. When the bus stops, red lights on the top of the bus will
flash and a stop arm with flashing red lights will extend from the left side of
The second rule to remember is “When to Stop”
for a school bus, depending on the type of roadway you are traveling, as illustrated in the following diagram.
it is illegal to pass a school bus from behind when amber or red lights are
flashing, as well as passing a stopped school bus with red lights flashing from
either direction. The school bus driver is required to wait until passengers
are safely away from the bus on the side of the road before proceeding. In
Ohio, if school bus drivers believe a motorist has unlawfully passed a stopped
bus, they will, if possible, report the license plate number to their local law
be aware of school zone flashing signals and always obey posted speed limits.
Speeding in a school zone is punishable with fines beginning at $155.00 for the